Guidelines: Deleting objects
The following objects can be deleted:
- Contacts (person, role and organization)
Only the sponsoring registrar can delete an object.
Deleting contacts and hosts
- Delete the object with the EPP delete command. The object is purged from the database immediately.
Objects that are referred to from other objects cannot be deleted. E.g. a contact cannot be deleted if it is registered as the contact for a domain or a host.
- Set the date for deletion from the DNS (max 90 days from the current date) and deletion from the database (max 90 days after deletion from the DNS). If you do not set these dates, the system defaults will be used (deletion from the DNS 60 days after the current date, deletion from the database 90 days after the current date).
- Order the deletion with the delete command.
- You will receive immediate confirmation via EPP. The domain’s legal contact will be notified via email when the deletion process starts.
- If you have set the quarantene period to less than 30 days, the domain will nevertheless be blocked from registration for a minimum of 30 days from its removal from the DNS. If the quarantene period is longer than 30 days, there is no additional blocking.
Example 1: You order deletion from the DNS on 1 March with no quarantene added. The domain is deleted from our database on 1 March, but remains blocked until 31 March.
Example 2: You order deletion from the DNS on 1 March with quarantene set to end on 15 March. The domain is deleted from our database on 15 March, but remains blocked until 31 March.
Example 3: You order deletion from the DNS on 1 March with quarantene set to end on 12 April. The domain is deleted from our database on 12 April and is immediately available to register.